CKLG Jim Hault's Stoned Ranger series 1972?

CKLG Jim Hault's Stoned Ranger series 1972?

Postby Raymondo » Sun May 31, 2009 2:40 pm

Hey CKLG listeners from the early 70's
Does anybody remember the Stoned Ranger and his faithful Indian companion Tronto? Jim Hault concocted this morning padody and I tried to never miss an eposide. It was sponsored by Texan Restaurants. Is there any surviving recordings of this series? I would love to relive the days.
Raymondo
Coquitlam
Raymondo

Re: CKLG Jim Hault's Stoned Ranger series 1972?

Postby jon » Sun May 31, 2009 3:06 pm

I have no recordings, but I certainly remember the series. Chilliwack always seemed to find its way into the storyline, too, as I recall.

To be honest, I heard about it more from friends at the time, as I was almost exclusively a CKLG-FM listener by 1972. Admittedly, I also listened to CHQM as I was an Operator there until May 1972.
jon
Advanced Member

Postby Howaboutthat » Sun May 31, 2009 6:35 pm

I recall Hault in the CFUN days... very time he did a time check, a duck would quack. Don't know if it was a Baby Duck... but that's for another thread.
Houston, We're dealing with morons!.
Howaboutthat
Advanced Member

Postby radiofan » Sun May 31, 2009 10:48 pm

I think Tom Rivers of CHUM fame originated the feature ..

From Rock Radio Scrapbook and Warren Cosfords tribute to Tom Rivers ...

Whenever he left CHUM, for whatever reasons he left, Tom always kept in touch. One time a tape arrived from Philadelphia. It contained episode after episode of a 2 minute radio series chronicling the adventures of The Stoned Ranger and his Indian companion Toronto that Tom and come cohorts had written and produced for WIBG. It was brilliant. Rock and Roll Theatre of The Mind Radio. I’m sure "The Kids" had never heard anything like it.